Captain America: Illogical Arguments

I watched Captain America: Civil War this last weekend, and for the most part it’s what you’d expect in a film adaptation of comic book superheroes. The movie was entertaining, but there were several things about it that bugged me (heh heh, well, besides Antman and Spiderman). These issues were what made the movie work, and so I can’t fault it too much. I guess.

And here it is: misplaced guilt and illogical arguments. This was throughout the movie and was a basis for the split between Captain America and Ironman. A bad guy with a grenade tries to blow himself and a hero up in a crowd, another hero steps in to save the first and the crowd. . . only to blow up part of a building resulting in different people dying. So that means that second hero is responsible for those deaths, according to the movie.

Wait, what? So the hero is the one who killed the bystanders and not THE GUY WITH THE GRENADE?! The hero made a snap judgement that resulted in those in the surrounding area surviving, including the two heroes who will continue to save the world another day. Could the hero have changed the trajectory and saved everyone? Maybe, but there was only a second, if that, to respond.

And this illogical argument is seen repeatedly throughout the movie. Remember the last Avengers movie when the bad guys lifted a huge hunk of earth and that crashed down on a bunch of people when the Avengers ruined the bad guy’s plan? According to this movie, it was the Avengers’ fault all those people died, not the bad guys who, you know, caused the hunk to fly around in the first place.

And perhaps what irks me most is that this misplaced blame leads to the Avengers agreeing to be under government control. Because no government has ever killed anyone before or made any horrid mistakes. . .

A more minor thing that would bug me is that Ironman is the one to agree with it fully and immediately. Ironman, the guy who told the government to piss off, those were his super suits. I can forgive this so long as it isn’t an oversight and is intentional, demonstrating Ironman’s change in character, but it’s hard to determine if it was a mistake or if the creators are actually developing the character. It would make sense to me for Ironman to stick with the decision to the end out of stubbornness due to his ego, but I need that reassurance that he would have made the initial call. . . which the movie provides. The movie built up on this a bit, using that misplaced blame to guilt him into it. I would hope an alleged genius could see through the illogic, but again, I can forgive this because of Ironman’s arrogance. Due to that, he might see the results as his fault because he thinks he could have prevented it. Consider me appeased.

What I can’t forgive is Vision following the same fallacy. Vision should think logically, like a computer. The fact that he also misplaces the blame for these events onto the Avengers really irks me. I understand his actions for trying to help one of the heroes by not letting her leave because he is concerned more for her public image and her own acceptance than because he thinks she’ll go out and kill more people (even though that’s the just of what he said to try to get her to stay), but he still supports the argument that the Avengers should have supervision (heh, superVision. . .) because of all the people they “killed.”

Overall, it was a fun movie and I’m glad I saw it. I just wish one character would have stood up and said, “You guys are all as egotistical as Stark if you think all these deaths are your faults.” Nobody asks, “What would have been the alternative if the Avengers hadn’t taken action?”

Featured image ripped off from the vast expanse of the interwebs

Published by

faintolist

So you want to know about me? If so, I'm surprised and humbled. There are so many people you could bump into on the vast expanse of the internet, yet here you are reading MY words. I am one who was fooled by the system into getting a college education only to find out I would have been happier without it. And after realizing this, I returned to it like a dog to its vomit. Thus, I find myself pining after my childhood dream of being a writer while sitting on a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and attending to a Master's degree. You know how the saying goes: "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me." Joking aside, I like what I do, but I still want to write and eventually publish my work. I see no reason why I cannot do both.

One thought on “Captain America: Illogical Arguments”

  1. I remember thinking the same thing back when I read a similar plot line in 70s Avengers. It makes no sense. On the other hand, nary a comic book goes by without buildings getting destroyed. That’s *gotta* be tough on the old infrastructure.

    Like

Leave a Reply

