Character Idea: Halfling Barbarian

Mim, the Halfling Barbarian

An outcast by choice, Mim never understood the subtle ways of her brethren and instead embraced the boisterous nature of a particular group of humans. She left home as a teenager, to the relief of her family, and joined these barbarians, earning a place in their circle through killing a wolf by ripping its throat out with her teeth. She turned out to be even more brutish than the rest of the tribe, however, and departed from their company only a few years later, to the relief of her new found family.

Similarly, Mim joined and abandoned groups of criminals off and on for several years, and people spoke of some of her exploits. When introducing herself to the party of adventurers, she’d say, “I’m merciless, marauding, menacing Mim! My enemies call me bitch. But only once.” Anyone who has ever met her thinks she is insane, and many call her Mad Mim.

Mim holds great disdain for those who are humble and meek, but she will still jump to the innocent’s defense, though begrudgingly at best, and chooses her victims with much more discernment than what it appears to someone witnessing her methods. She finds instant camaraderie with those who are loud, drink heavily, and don’t mind getting punched in the face, but she also appreciates those who know what they want and take it, whether by stealth or brute strength.

Published by

faintolist

So you want to know about me? If so, I'm surprised and humbled. There are so many people you could bump into on the vast expanse of the internet, yet here you are reading MY words. I am one who was fooled by the system into getting a college education only to find out I would have been happier without it. And after realizing this, I returned to it like a dog to its vomit. Thus, I find myself pining after my childhood dream of being a writer while sitting on a Bachelor's degree in Mechanical Engineering and attending to a Master's degree. You know how the saying goes: "Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me." Joking aside, I like what I do, but I still want to write and eventually publish my work. I see no reason why I cannot do both.

Leave a Reply

